Canvas integration setup?

Hi there!

We’ve tried many different settings in Evolve (course attainment extension, setting score variables, SCORM vs xAPI, etc.) but just can’t get Canvas to accept our course completion. We’re just going in circles at this point.

Has anyone had success setting up an Evolve course in Canvas, and if so, how?

Please help! Thanks!

Does it all work OK in SCORM Cloud? If so I would ask Canvas why something that works perfectly well in SCORM Cloud doesn’t work in Canvas. Additionally you can send them links to the SCORM debug logs that SCORM cloud generates.

@Matt_Leathes Haha, we’re complete novices at this. What’s SCORM Cloud? We’re having trouble finding helpful documentation on either side of this. Do you have recommended settings that we need to have set in Evolve before exporting?

SCORM Cloud is generally considered the ‘gold standard’ for verifying SCORM support, you can access it here: SCORM Cloud - Log in securely to your account

@Matt_Leathes After looking at SCORM Cloud’s tutorial a bit, I think we must have gotten our wires crossed. This looks way more technical than what it seems it should take to solve the issues we’re having.

We don’t feel like we’re trying to do anything difficult or custom. We’re not even trying to track assessment data or anything like that. We just want to plug an Evolve course into a Canvas module and have it register as completed to trigger a completion certificate. Seems pretty straightforward, but we just can’t get the settings in Evolve and/or Canvas right to correctly record the completion. We’ve reached out to Canvas to see what they say too.

We were eventually able to get Canvas to register a score for the assignment, but no matter what we did it always scored a 0 and therefore “failed” the assignment. I feel like we’re very close, we just need some expert advice to push us in the right direction.