Accessibility features now in Evolve Authoring published courses

Evolve 4 is here and we’ve posted about all the changes on our blog - here:

1 Like

I am new to developing elearning content. Can anyone recommend online (or other) resources to learn Alt Text and ARIA label best practises for a good user experience. I have done the Quickstart tutorial on the Voiceover app to test things out but not really being familiar with it I am struggling. Is there a better way for me to learn accessibility functions from scratch? All ideas appreciated. Thanks

@enem Here are a few resources that we found. They should help give you a general grounding in the theory and practice.

https://www.w3.org/WAI/tutorials/images/tips/

Thanks for your reply, I find these resources technical rather than about the user experience. In case anyone else is in my position of knowing very little about this subject, I did discover an article that was pretty basic but clear on Alt Text - it helped me understand… https://webaim.org/techniques/alttext/.
I am still unsure of Aria Labels though. Are these descriptive of the type of content (e.g “Overview of module”) or do they replicate the actual content in that element (e.g “Introduction to Paper Independence”)?
Thanks!

Bump. Can anyone elaborate on Enem’s post?

I’m also a bit new to this and still confused about the ARIA label feature after trying to read through the technical content available online.

There are so many levels of the course content where you could potentially insert an ARIA label (at the page level, article level, block level and each component level) it’s hard to tell where it’s necessary. The messaging next to the ARIA field “Fill this in to describe this piece of content to a screen reader. If this is not filled in then this element is not tab-able.

makes me wonder whether every element needs an ARIA label otherwise it’s not tabable?